Labor day laboring

Posted: September 6, 2011 in JGroeling Personal Artwork
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Been a bit pre-occupied again. So to update, since I currently have no new images that I can upload, I will instead fill you in on the current happenings.

First. I will be finishing the indoor part of my paintball mural this coming week. And beginning prep on the outside mural at the same location. This will be my first large scale outdoor project and I’m freagin psyched to start this thing up. Sketches and photos as it goes, as well as photos of the last of the indoor once I remember to bring my camera there.

I’ve also started work on more personal work, I’ve realized that with all the projects I’ve not had much time to do my own stuff. So finally set aside some time for that, partially deducted from sleep, but I’m alright with that. This project is going to be an installation series. My largest series, and largest personal work to date. It’s hard to explain what it is, but I can show you previous images of work that it will be somewhat like in approach.

The first is a subtle image, a four part series where each image is readable as it’s own, and the four images combined form another image overall. The title for this series is “A Lifetime Shared Through an Embrace”, it is, like I said, a subtle image to some, others see it immediately. I’d strongly recommend you click the image for a larger view.

The second image, “Of Dreams and Death” is actually the first attempt I’d made at a series of images creating a larger image. This one is easier to read visually for most people. Also recommend clicking for larger image.

If you want to see more of the paintings, or just the up close details for any of the panels, follow this link to my temporary portfolio site, http://jgroeling.deviantart.com/gallery/7643919

As for the new project(s), the main difference will be in the panel size. These two were experiments on seeing what I could do with this approach, and frankly, I loved the process and the outcome. My only problem with these is that they are fairly small, the panels are 4″ x 6″ postcard size works. For the upcoming projects, each panel will be 16″ x 20″. My first warm up will be a 9 part series of these 16″ x 20″ panels, which will make the overall image about 4 1/4 ft x 5 1/6 ft, so fairly large. The main project I’m sketching now will be composed of 30 of these 16″ x 20″ panels, making it approximately 10 ft tall by about 6 2/3 feet wide. That is a wall.  These pieces are meant to be shown together so the idea is to display and sell it as an installation piece. Prints are planned to be available of each of the individual panels, if someone wanted to purchase prints of them all to replicate the installation at home, as well as poster prints of the entire installation at a more compact size. I’m getting ahead of myself a little on this, but I’ve sold prints of the smaller ones, and people appreciated that, so now as my work evolves and increases in size and effort, I’ll still be doing what it takes to market the art itself as sale-able to those who want to be able to appreciate it in their homes.

Unfortunately sketches will not be shown of these projects until after they are completed, don’t want to spoil the surprises yet. However as the panels are finished I will be doing my best to keep things updated…. maybe. I may hold off on those updates until after I’ve shown the installation in a gallery for the first time. Either way, you’ll hear about it here.

Oh, and, before I post this for the night. My desktop computer is finally repaired, once I make it over to pick it up and get through re-installing the programs I need on it, I’ll be able to hook up my scanner and start updating past pieces again. As well as working on my website again,…. man that has been sidelined for ages. Looking forward to being awake for the next half a year or so to get things on track though. Keep checking back, my career as I see it is just starting to get good, and I’m going to do everything I can to make sure it keeps going in the direction I want it to.

Thanks for keeping up.

J

Leave a Reply

