Townhouse Art Gallery (Mural)

Posted: February 29, 2012 in Commissioned Artwork, Mural
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, while I’ve been showing work through the Townhouse Gallery, I’m also creating some permanent murals at the second gallery location for the curator. It is pretty cool to have my work part of the permanent display alongside many other artists, some of whom I’ve recently had the pleasure to meet and show work with. All great people.

For this project, I was asked if I could work on a wall with some pre-existing artwork. Frankly, it just needed something else that the other artist hadn’t put into it. So I decided to add my flavor to the mix.
What was already on the walls (Not my artwork as I had no input or knowledge of it before I came to the space):

This is NOT MY ART

This is also NOT MY ART

Okay, so now that you’ve seen what was there for me to work with (note, the blue strips are the tape I put down to help me transfer my sketch onto the wall) which was  butterflies, a statue with red ‘stones’ and a heart thing. The lettering I decided was going to be more of a focal point than the butterflies. So I started my creation, and over a couple days, the blank background started to fill in with something from a fairytale.

The view you get while coming up the stairs

First of all, I wanted something to integrate the skylight that was there, and to stick with the lighthearted scene present, I decided a tree with flowers and little fairies would be most appropriate. Also, I don’t often paint lighthearted cute things, and I do like to sometimes when the situation calls for it.
Here we go with some details and explanation

Added some clouds below the butterflies on the stairwell area

This was actually the first thing I painted on the wall, just wanted something light and soft looking at the base of things to break up the monotony of the blue wall. So I went with this cloudlike approach, which I realized also looks very mountainous from this angle. awesome.

Still looking up.

Here you can start to see more detail in the branches, make out some of the flowers and possibly even see a small fairy or two. The most important thing for me was to put something under the floating heart thing, as it bothered me that it was such a central attention grabber and made little sense. Soooo, branch under it.

and from the landing

Think the lettering pops even more with the complement of greens behind it. I did try and paint things softer so they wouldn’t make the wall overpowering, which I think worked well.

more of the ceiling

The wires hanging above it are where the lighting fixture will be mounted when construction at the space is done.

and here are a couple little closeups of some of my favorite little ladies. There is a total of  8 of them, but you need to view the space in person the enjoy the fun of finding them.

just chilling next to a flower

This one you may recognize from the art show flyer I posted up last week (using a lower resolution photo) she’s a cutie. By the way these little fairies are about 2-3″ tall on the wall, so it really is a treat for those who take a moment to look for them.

also taking a breather and enjoying some flower company

There you are, that’s the first mural (although may add a few small details this week)

I think it came out pretty damn good as a way to work with what was existing on the wall without overpowering the space or other artwork. Success? You tell me.

~JG out for now. More imagery up sometime this weekend.

Leave a Reply

