Portrait of the Grandparents (Holiday Gift)

Posted: January 4, 2013 in JGroeling Personal Artwork
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Firstly, my grandparents celebrated their 50th anniversary in November, shortly before Thanksgiving. For their anniversary they invited their 4 children with spouses, and me, as I’m the eldest grandchild and still the only one able to drink legally. (way to go me!)

Now, every year at Thanksgiving, my family does a grab bag to see who will be getting a gift for whom on Xmas. It’s a fairly big family, and we all still give a little something here and there, but the grab bag is for a $50 gift so it’s a little more of an investment and takes some thought. This year, my mom got my grandmother, and I got my grandfather in the grab bag, so I asked my mom if she would go halves on a nice frame job for a portrait I would paint of my grandparents. She said yes, and I started working.

Fortunately my aunt was able to provide me with a bunch of really good pictures of the both of them, as well as their wedding picture. I also chatted with my mom a bit and found out that my grandparent’s honeymoon was in Paris, and they haven’t been back there since. So I whipped up a rough sketch to figure out the size, and set to painting. Originally I was going to do a full on detailed portrait of the two of them in Paris, but I started to realize that they might appreciate it if I took a few years off of them, left out a few wrinkles, and did the portrait of them as I see them still.

Here’s the piece, possibly still in progress pre-framing.

GmaNToopa

Just before Christmas, my mother, sister, and I went to the local Michael’s craft store on Long Island (I kind of love those places and have since I was a kid). Originally I was going to have it framed at some place near me closer to the city, but was concerned I might break it traveling out there, so waited on it. We were fortunate enough at the store to get the help of a very nice salesperson in the framing department. She custom cut the mat to my specifications, and helped us find a frame at a suitable size to what we were looking for. And,… we were just slightly over our budget, but well worth it. Here’s what the piece looked like after i finished framing it Xmas eve.

GmaNToopaFramed

Definitely looks good. Applied an archival sealant, archival matting tape and all the fixings. On Christmas day, the look on everyone’s face, especially my grandfather’s was well worth the effort and expense, and very much reminded me of something I seemed to have forgotten. The coolest gifts aren’t the ones you buy at a store, but the ones that you invest time and work into creating from nothing.

Happy holidays everyone.

Leave a Reply

