Over the past year or so, my schedule has been a bit filled up with commercial work and projects for others (which I love, and is what makes my job so interesting and exciting). However,  setting aside time to work on my own art has become a priority for me. The webcomic JDGAF is actually something I want to put more time into, and set up a separate site to promote it once I get some more pages done. My paintings have been a little neglected, but I am getting some sketchwork done for upcoming projects.

This in mind, last week while I was browsing the cheap racks outside the Strand bookstore in Union Square, I spotted a weekly planner. One of those moldeskin products that is pocket sized and pretty handy, a good find and very cheap too. I already have a planner though, but decided to get it anyway and do something with it. By the time I got home I had decided I was going to use the planner as a sketchbook, and fill each page with something to symbolize the week/day/etc. The first image I created was on the train to visit family Easter Sunday, and turned out looking like this.

TheRabbit_EasterSunday_2013

I did end up sharing him on the various social media sites I use (quick snapshot), and have greatly enjoyed the interpretations that people post regarding his looks, expression, and demeanor. Was a really fun drawing to make regardless. I did learn two important things through this though. First being, that no matter that I tend to sketch very light, the ink shows through the thin paper of this planner, and second being, that even the thinnest of paint washes on thin paper tend to bleed through.

With both of those things in mind, the next sketch I did, I decided to give a full page gap between pages that I’ll be inking like this. As for the in between pages, I’ll likely go through those with some sketching in pencil. The second page was a backtrack to Saint Patrick’s day, and turned out fairly cuter than the rabbit, and a touch motivational as well.

PatchesTheLeprachaun_StPatricksDay_2013

Over the remainder of the year I’ll be filling this up, and backtracking a bit. Although, to be honest, my memory for holidays and dates of observance tend to not be the best, so there may be some obscure holidays, interesting observations, seasonal related thoughts, etc. The work wont be quite as personal as my sketchbook tends to become, but there will be a lot of interesting and close to the heart art. Be sure to check back often and see what else comes about over the year.

Leave a Reply

