It has been a very long time since I’ve done any digital work. Mostly because I really just love the feeling or working with traditional media. However, I’ve realized that it can be very helpful in planning out larger pieces by doing some quick mock ups, as well as with some practice, I’m sure I can make some really fun digital paintings.

So far I’ve been working with GIMP, which is basically a free version of Photoshop. It works fine for what I’m doing, as is pretty straight forward as a learning tool on how to get things going.

The first one I started working with recently was based on a few sketches I’d done of a prospective t-shirt design I’d like to have printed up.

Here are the rough sketches in my sketchbook.

RockNRoll_BadASStronautSketch1   astronaut2

and then I did a very light rough sketch in pencil, scanned it and started making this.

Astronaut_sketch_1

 

As you can see the image is still pretty roughly done. I’ve got some more work to do with the background design, and then line revision and sharpening details before I can have it color separated and sent to a printer.

The second one I’ve recently been working on is a character concept, the base idea was roughed out (again, in the sketchbooks), with an idea for the face and pose. Then scanned, and worked on. Background is still being sketched out.

ShifterHead  ShifterFig

ShifterDrawingDigi_lowreswithHeadofsketch5

While I was playing with it, I was also occasionally flipping it, and realized I currently like it facing the opposite way. Head blown up as a second layer for detail viewing at the moment. I will be sketching more like this over the next couple months, as I really want to do more concept art work, and it seems that the digital route is preferred in that field. Also, now that I have a functional tablet again, I can actually do the detail work.

Of these two drawings, the astronaut will end up being finished as a tshirt design, going to do more revisions to get a really cool look to it. And the character concept I may end up attempting as a digital painting in the future. Will see how it looks when I finish detailing it.

Leave a Reply

