In preparation for the Cedar Beach music and arts festival (long island, NY), I was asked by Parkside Fuel/Greenseal Weatherization to create a painting on one of their older oil tanks, from an image of their offices during a snowstorm.  So, in the interest of sharing some progress work with you. Here’s how it starts.

Client asks me if I can do something, I say yes. I do it, something goes wrong, I fix it, make it work.

So when they gave me a white tank to start on, I realized two things. first, it was rusting through the paint. two, it wasnt well primed. Picked up a coat of Rustoleum primer, problem solved, materials added to list.

Paint wasnt sticking as well to that surface as I’d hoped, so had to double up on coats for even the non dense patches. Solution, I’d have to really crank into this thing to finish it for the event. Here’s some pics. (click for larger version) Oh, and I was working on location in a corner of their graveled parking lot.

On its back, getting painting

standing, very rough start  coming together  top down look  Night, finishing up

In order to finish it, the last day I was there from about 7am-9pm. When I have a deadline, I do everything I can to make sure it gets finished for the client.

The next day, I arrived at the event to see the tank in daylight, Although there was one change, the sealant coat I used must have picked up some dust during the night, because there was a thin coat of white at the top area. It worked out well though as it added to the snow cloud effect. What artists like to call, a “Happy Accident”.

At the event

The client was really happy with how it turned out, people at the event stopped to look, and get information on the artist (this guy), and was a lot of fun. Also they hired me to do face painting at the event, which is normally not what I’d be doing, but the kids were great and I had a lot of fun making them look like butterflies, puppies, tigers, zombies, and various other things.

Overall, great experience, and they already mentioned they want me to do more work for them.

Leave a Reply

